Happy Mother’s Day

By reeselite

May 13, 2007

Category: Daily Bite

2 Comments »

So it was Mother’s Day.

We celebrated me with extra sleep this morning courtesy of my loving Russ.  Ryan celebrated me by continuing on what is now day FOUR of "poop on the potty like a big boy!"  Not wanting to be left out, Drew celebrated me by rigging his diaper to explode and travel all the way up to his neck.  But since Russ was still celebrating me, my only job was to run the other way while he hosed him down.

I celebrated my mom by planting flowers.  She had the most amazing gardens and I while my thumb is most definitely NOT green, I feel close to her when I plant pretty things.

I found a pretty basket of purple Million Bells Petunias to take to the cemetery today.  Ryan fell asleep on the short ride over there, so we let him sleep in his car seat with the door open while we replaced flowers and cleaned the memorial bench.   

My little family has come such a long way since the first Mother’s Day without her.  I remember looking for a birthday card for a friend and literally running into the Mother’s Day card display section.  I was five months pregnant with Ryan and I distinctly remember feeling like I had been slapped in the face.  Hard.  It seemed like everywhere I looked there were mothers and daughters doing all of the things that I was supposed to be doing with my mother.  Instead, I was crying and waddling through Target in the midst of my first pregnancy with banners flying everywhere hammering it home that she was gone.

I did not believe anyone that said it would get easier.  But what I have learned is that children have the most amazing healing quality about them.  Ryan and Drew have given me such a feeling of peace and contentment that I don’t think I would have had otherwise.  And now that my brother has Abigail in his life, I hope that he can now feel some of that pain ease away just a little. 

Marriage, children, new homes, promotions, new business ventures.  So much has happened in the five years since she passed away.  She was our best friend and we miss her.  And now in a way, I feel like our babies are making it possible for us to celebrate her with just a little less heartache.

Happy Mother’s Day, mom. 

Front yard at mom’s house.  May 07.

2 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day”

  1. Beautiful post – you do your mom proud!

  2. thanks laurie, you are sweet as usual. SO glad that you are back from vacation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

