Long Weekend Recap

It’s been a really lovely weekend.

No, seriously.  I’m not being sarcastic or anything.  It has really been a pretty good weekend.

I have managed to eat clean AND clean out our garage as well as Drew’s room/closet.  Everything is so clean that I don’t even think that I can hear the theme to Sanford and Son anymore.

The mighty fishermen gathered Saturday morning as our neighborhood hosted a fishing tournament.  Russ went with Travis on his boat (Hey, Travis!) which meant that Russ was up around 5:00 that morning.  Ryan and Drew cut me some slack and decided to sleep past 6:00 which meant that I got to sleep past 6:00 too.  As a bonus, Drew actually relented to a morning nap which gave Ryan and I enough time to color about 80% of the driveway with sidewalk chalk.

Lime green.

We were going to walk down to the cul-de-sac to see if we could spot the guys out on the water, but I knew that if we actually did see them then Ryan would probably attempt a swim to the boat.  My stroller does not come equipped with water wings so we decided to stick around the house.

Russ called me as they were wrapping up and wanted me to bring the boys down to the marina for the weigh in and cookout.  I decided to go as soon as he assured me that it was only the fish that were going to get weighed.  I tagged along with the wives of the other mighty fishermen on my street and we had a good time.  The battery on my camera died, but I managed to get a pic or two.

There was a tent sent up with hamburgers, hot dogs and grilled, stuffed jalapenos.  Oh, and brownies.  Big, fat, beautiful brownies.

sigh.

I was on plan and ate my tuna and veggies before we left.  I did try ONE grilled jalapeno.  It was AWESOME.  I am hoping that the ones I try to make later this week turn out just as good.

So we visited with neighbors and Russ’ parents yesterday.  Ordered Sprayberry’s Barbecue for dinner.  My past favorite was the Aristocratic Hamburger, which my friend Julie (wife of Travis.  Hey, Travis!) has dubbed the AristoFAT Hamburger.  It’s a big ol’ cheeseburger covered with lettuce, onions, tomato and salad dressing with a big heaping pile of french fries AND onion rings.

sigh.

I ordered the grilled chicken salad.  Plain.  But ohsomuchbetter for me.  🙂

Today I loaded up all 23 pounds of big baby Drew in the stroller and huffed and puffed behind him for an hour long walk through da ‘hood.

I’m drinking my water.  I am the model of good behavior.

There must be a comet hurtling towards earth.

Oh!  Eric and Jenny brought Abigail over so that Drew could aggravate her!

….and Ryan chilled by the pool with a Capri Sun.

THE END.

3 Responses to “Long Weekend Recap”

  1. Yea! Your comments are back!

    LOL – Sanford and Son, my husband starts singing/humming that when the redneck neighbors drag up some new piece of crap to park beside our house.

    Sounds like you are doing awesome, keep it up!

  2. FUN FUN FUN — You tell the best stories …. I love reading your writing. And love the pics too. Keep up the great work!!!

  3. Laurie–thanks for the heads up–I was clueless. The Sanford and Son theme is a daily thing given Russ’ propensity for collecting and keeping every piece of anything that comes through our house. It’s a disease I tell ya.

    Katie–Aww shucks. Thanks! You too! Your “Food is no longer an issue for me” posts helped me alot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

