Yummyhummus.com!

By reeselite

July 6, 2007

Category: Daily Bite

5 Comments »

So after much internal dialog I decided to sign up with a host and go back to yummy hummus, along with a dot and a com.  Last night found me sitting in front of the computer with my helmet on trying to decode words like MySQL, FTP, Pearl, Javascript, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious.  It was like reading a math book in Spanish. 

I suck at math.  Especially Spanish math.

I assumed that just because Russ had the words IT and Engineer in his job title that this move would be no problem whatsoever.  But I soon realized that Russ wasn’t even half the computer nerd he had proclaimed himself to be and had even left his pocket protector at work.  He did manage to set up my Filezilla and get it running.  But then I could not for the life of me figure out how to log back in to WordPress.   I went to bed angry and dreamt of websites, programs, self tanner and Oprah Winfrey.  Or maybe it was Oprah Winfrey programming my website while I applied self tanner?  I don’t know. 

Before bed, I sent an email (my 4th for the day) pleading with my patient host people to please just tell me where to go to log in to my account.  By the time I woke up the problem had been solved.

So now I am here.  I have a theme installed. But don’t ask me who those kids are eating watermelon up there. They’re not my kids. But they are just gonna have to stay up there for another day or five until I get my balance in here.

I’m working on my blogroll now. 

Gotta go put my helmet on.

Edited to add: Banner image change was a success! The grinning boys up there ARE my kids.

One detail down, several more to go. Now I am in widget/plug in hell.

See ya.

5 Responses to “Yummyhummus.com!”

  1. Looking good. Where’s the beer?

  2. Okay, I finally found you – didn’t I see some mention of a beer would be waiting for me on one of your 20 previous other sites? You are far more technologically advanced than I am – I would even have attempted to change sites let alone more than once. Your post was very funny though.

    Love, love, love the post/link on alli – that cracked me up! I had no idea. I’d seen it in the stores and had never had the time to even really figure out was and now I’m going to laugh hysterically whenever I see it. Thank you for making yet another mundane trip the grocery store a comic event.

    (Ha! Just noticed Martha’s comment – there’s a theme here)

  3. Hey Martha–found the beer. Come on over anytime!

    Laurie–You too! Technologically advanced? You would laugh if you had seen what we went through just to change the header image over the last 24 hours! Glad that the link made you laugh. I was howling when I read it too. I will be staying away from that med for sure!

  4. Love the new location for the blog. Much easier to remember!
    I love hearing about all the stuff you go through, thank you for sharing!

  5. Awwww, thanks Mark. And might I say, we really missed celebrating the 4th of July at your house with 300 friends and strangers this year. 🙂

    I understand though. Sometimes I hardly want my own family in my house, much less strangers doing things they probably should not be doing.

    Eeek.

    Thanks for stopping by. I’m still tinkering with things. Hopefully I won’t shut my host down somehow.

    See ya at the gym.

Leave a Reply

